jump to navigation

Hyper-V, SLAT blah blah for Windows 8 Phone App development July 21, 2014

Posted by Midhun in None.
trackback

I was trying to run my first Windows Phone 8 application (the basic one where you just show a HTML page). But it kept telling me that Hyper-V was not enabled on my computer.

I got a Lenovo 400S Touch. Initial Setup:

– Freshly setup Windows 8.1 Pro with all updates

– Intel Virtualization enabled in BIOS (it was enabled when windows was getting installed too)

– Hyper-V settings in Control Panel were partially enabled.

 

Now when I ran the Windows Emulator for the first time, it gave me an error that Hyper-V is not enabled and directed me to the standard site : http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/windows/apps/jj863509%28v=vs.105%29.aspx

I checked my processor compatibility (although I was sure – wanted to recheck) using CoreInfo from here : http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/cc835722. All looks good.

I did what was said:

1. Changed Hyper-V settings in Windows

2. Disabled Intel Virtualization technology as it said in the page above

On reboot, the PC made some installations but I was still not able to run the emnulator. Now I checked for Windows updates and put them to be installed.

I do a few more reading and get to check the SLAT status as mentioned here : http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=271819

The tool says that my processor supports SLAT but virtualization is disabled in BIOS. So I go to enabled the Intel Virtualization technology againin BIOS this time. And now, the emulator starts up 🙂

I am not sure what helped. Suspects are the udpates from Windows.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

